Prix de Lausanne2018 News

For its 46th edition, the Prix de Lausanne (PdL) will present a world premiere choreographed by Goyo Montero for the Partner Schools Choreographic Project, Jean-Christophe Maillot receiving the second PdL Life Time Achievement Award, the Mariinsky Ballet performing for the Interlude, Wayne McGregor proposing two of his variations to the candidates, as well as a photo exhibition by Niels Ackermann for the Lausanne residents. 

Goyo Montero to collaborate for the Partner Schools Choreographic Project
51 students from the Prix de Lausanne’s (PdL) partner schools will spend 8 days with Goyo Montero (Prize Winner 1994, member of the jury in 2012 and 2017, Director and main choreographer of the Nuremberg Ballet) to learn and rehearse a new piece that will be then performed during the 2018 Finals’ Interlude. This project is supported by the Fonds pour l’Equipement Touristique de la Region Lausannoise (FERL), the Rudolf Nureyev Foundation, the Friends of the PdL and Dance West. Shelly Power (PdL’s Artistic Director and CEO) is especially grateful to Mr. Junod (Lausanne’s Mayor) for his support of young artists and new works worldwide: “This is an exciting project that celebrates the strong and long-lasting partnerships with our partner schools and is evidence of the city’s commitment to bringing interesting projects to its community”.
Jean-Christophe Maillot to receive the second Prix de Lausanne (PdL) Life Time Achievement Award
As part of its 46th edition, the PdL wishes to honour the work of the French choreographer Jean-Christophe Maillot for his devotion to the dance world. Prize Winner in 1977, several times member or President of the PdL’s jury, he is the Choreographer-Director of the Ballets de Monte-Carlo since 1993.

The Mariinsky Ballet to perform
The Prix de Lausanne is honored to host the Mariinsky Ballet to close the 2018 Finals’ Interlude. Under the Direction (ad interim) of Yuri Fateev, a special performance of Diamonds (choreography by George Balanchine, © The George Balanchine Trust) will be danced by Kristina Shapran (First Soloist) and Xander Parish (Principal Dancer).
Wayne McGregor’s variations proposed to the candidates
The Prix de Lausanne (PdL) is grateful that the multi-award-winning British choreographer and Director of the Studio Wayne McGregor (London) has proposed two of his variations to the PdL candidates in 2018 (for the contemporary part of the competition): Becomings and Chroma.

46th International ballet competition
January 28th - February 4th, 2018
Next finals: Saturday February 3th